A Letter’s Worth of Words

I keep a collection of greeting cards to send to people. Unfortunately, I always end up writing a letter’s worth of words. The words overwhelm the small surface of the card, covering the inside and back, scribbled close together so readers have to squint. Sometimes I’ll have to finish off the letter/card on an index card and stuff that in the envelope too. Can I write on the envelope?

Maybe I should invest in stationery instead of cards. And practice being concise. I don’t like to edit my words, at least in writing. It’s so difficult with the mental exercise of keeping track of grammar, deciding on alternatives, and cutting out sections that sound amazing but don’t fit. I have so much I want to express! I don’t want to cut anything out. And yet editing is worth it, if only to save some pretty blank space on nice cards.

Leave a Reply

