All Literature Is…

“All literature in some way is about trying something else on, looking at another aspect of the world through your own eyes, trying to understand a problem or a situation that you’re dealing with metaphorically through a character or a set of characters in a story.”

I love this description!  Powerfully and concisely says what literature and art is all about.  I’ve been thinking about this Bus 52 story for months now and it’s one of the inspirations for my NaNoWriMo story.  I’m not using a comic book format, but I am taking what I’m thinking about and putting it into fiction.  I’m exploring what is important to me and running with that, kind of like the 3 things that I know to be true from Sarah Kay’s awesome TED Talk on spoken word. Take what you know, find your mode of expressing it, and see who connects with it.  And like Sarah Kay says in her talk, this can apply to so many different mediums of expression.  I mean, can’t the same of what is said about literature be said about dance? Acting? Art?

What I know has to do with what I’ve written and wondered about so often: shyness, introversion, loneliness, and the magic that can reside in mundane things.  I don’t have a clear idea of what is going to happen in my story or what I’m trying to say.  I guess I’ll see what I discover as I write for the next month.  I hope it’ll be like the childlike connection with storytelling in the video.

What’s your art form?  What do you know?  What are you discovering?

Leave a Reply

