Quiet Time with Earthsea

The last couple months of reading through Ursula K. Le Guin’s Earthsea Cycle has been wonderful.  I’d always meant to read The Wizard of Earthsea but never got around to it until this past July.  From page one I has hooked, which led me to kick myself.  “You call yourself a lover of fantasy fiction and you’re just now reading Le Guin?  Look at how much awesome you’ve been missing out on!”  My thoughts lash out at me in frustration.  I can think of so many essays to write about the stories, connecting it with faith, with the love of words, with Harry Potter.  (Though I’m sure all of these have already been done.)

And yet, despite wishing I’d discovered this crux of the fantasy genre sooner, I wouldn’t really change this moment.  It feels good right now on a quiet evening to curl up with a book I am excited to read and have no idea how the story ends.  It’s inspiration for new stories.  It’s also reconnection with a familiar joy of reading, especially when it involves dragons and wizardry.

So those are my written words for today.  It’s now back to Tales of Earthsea, the fifth piece of the cycle.  Time to see more of how this story unfolds.

Side note: My brother and I are super giddy when a fantasy fiction novel has a map.  We’re really loving the Earthsea maps.

4 thoughts on “Quiet Time with Earthsea

  1. Wonderful to hear about another fan of Earthsea. I wrote what the series meant to me on my own blog:

    The books that shape one’s thinking don’t come along very often. I was fortunate enough to stumble upon one at the age of ten. Randomly grabbed out of a crate of assorted novels for English reading class, A Wizard of Earthsea immediately drew me deep into its world of magic, adversity, and adventure. But unlike other young adult books that were read and subsequently forgotten, Wizard’s story stayed with me. The beautiful use of language and imagery, coupled with the mythic quality of the writing style, definitely didn’t hurt…
    …Whatever its appeal was, I have reread Wizard and subsequent entries of the Earthsea series many times since that first time – as a child, as a teenager, and as an adult. The text remains the same, but the insights I take from each of the stories changed as I changed. They have come to be my hidden treasures, my sources of inspiration, and my stepping stones into a lifetime of exploration of what it means to be human.

Leave a Reply

