What I’m Reading: The Thief

I am on a reading spree.  All I want to do is sit and read.  It’s the same feeling I had when I was little.  My family spent so much time at the library.  We still do, but when I was little the library was especially magical.  All the shelves were so much taller than I was and reading was a new and challenging endeavor I wanted to explore.  I would fill multiple bag with books, drag them home, and then stack each book up in my room or in front of the bookshelves at home (in front because there was no longer any room on the shelves).  Once I was finished with one book I would pick up another from the stack.

That’s what’s happening now.  Last night I stayed up late to finish reading Unbroken.  It blew me away.  People told me it was a good read, but, man, I was not ready for the intense awe that I have right now.  Louis Zamperini’s life experiences are awe-inspiring in themselves and then add to that Laura Hillenbrand’s masterful storytelling, well, that just makes it all even more powerful to me.  So what do I read after being deeply affected by an amazing book?  My favorite book, of course.  This way I continue to ride the wave of happiness instead of risking being let down and disappointed by trying something new.  I love The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner.  I read this book and the other novels in the series at least once a year because I just can’t get enough of them.  It’s the small details that get me excited, and just like Unbroken, The Thief is full of interesting tidbits that I love to reread.

I had to borrow this copy from my brother who borrowed it from the library.  I don’t yet own a copy of my own.  I rarely buy a book unless I know I will love it, and I find that out by checking them out from the library.  I haven’t got around to buying the series yet, but this year is the year to put my foot down and treat myself.

So here I go, voraciously reading up all the wonderful books I love.  Let me know if you have any recommendations for me, books you’ve enjoyed.  Hopefully all this reading and enjoyment of storytelling will boost my confidence when it comes time to begin writing my own stories.  I’m definitely recognizing the elements of storytelling that excite me and that I’d like to incorporate. 🙂

2 thoughts on “What I’m Reading: The Thief

  1. Hello, Faith! I hope your summer is going well. I’m reading Donna Leon’s Commissario Brunetti Mystery series, which is about a police detective in Venice. What’s interesting is that Leon is American and lives in Venice, but doesn’t want the books translated into Italian. I’m finishing up the third book and I’m loving it. I just got the first 2 episodes on DVD from the library…German TV did an adaptation of the books and they’re amazing. Talk soon! x

Leave a Reply

